Be Doers of the Word

Tom Penrod
3 min readJul 27, 2023
Photo by Element5 Digital on Unsplash

‘But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves. For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks intently at his natural face in a mirror. For he looks at himself and goes away and at once forgets what he was like. ‘ James 1:22–24

We have a huge mirror by our door so that I can check my appearance before I go out into the world. That is why I think we have that mirror there my beautiful bride would prefer that it is to decorate the entrance to our home.

But face it. Everyone who leaves our house looks at themselves before they leave.

  • is my hair ok?
  • is my hat on backward?
  • does this jacket look as amazing I as thought on the website?
  • is my fly closed?

To St. James, that mirror is like hearing the Word of God. When you see yourself in the mirror and realize that your hat is on backward or that your fly is open you do something about it.

And…

When you hear or read God’s Word, you act on it. You share that Word to help someone else learn about the amazing mercy and…

--

--

Tom Penrod

Stories that I pray move you to believe in the Father, Son and Holy Spirit